NDIS Explained

There are around 4.3 million Australians who have a disability. When it is fully rolled out, the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) will provide about 460,000 Australians aged under 65, who have permanent and significant disability with funding for supports and services.

For many people, it will be the first time they receive the disability support they need.

The NDIS focuses on supporting Australians with a permanent or significant disability, giving them the opportunity to build skills for everyday tasks or to join/re-join the workforce and engage with the community.

At it’s core, the NDIS supports people with a disability to live an ordinary life. The type of support that is provided includes:

  • Support to achieve greater independence
  • Support to being more involved in the community
  • Support in gaining employment, and
  • Support with improved wellbeing

As part of the NDIS, you will receive a tailored plan to ensure you receive the support you need and to help you identify and reach your goals.

NDIS – What does it mean?

National: The NDIS is being introduced progressively across all states and territories in Australia.

Disability: The NDIS provides support to eligible people with intellectual, physical, sensory, cognitive and psychosocial disability. Early intervention supports can also be provided for eligible people with disability or children with developmental delay.

Insurance: The NDIS gives all Australians peace of mind if they, their child or loved one is born with or acquires a permanent and significant disability, they will get the support they need.

Scheme: The NDIS is not a welfare system. The NDIS is designed to help people get the support they need so their skills and independence improve over time.